Multi-Generational God

Joshua 1:5
“There shall not any man be able to stand before thee all the days of thy life: as I was with Moses, so I will be with thee: I will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.”

One of the most daunting tasks that you will read about in the Scriptures is when Joshua took the reins of leadership after Moses died. 
This not only had to be an intimidating task, but it was a great responsibility to carry on what the LORD had used Moses to do. Though Moses had prepared Joshua, and though he had been with Israel throughout their journeys in the wilderness, the weight of leadership fell squarely on his shoulders once Moses died.

The first thing that God reminded Joshua to encourage him was that He is a multi-generational God. God said, “…as I was with Moses, so I will be with thee: I will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.” As a new leader filling the position of a man whom God used greatly, this had to be one of the most comforting words to hear. God wanted Joshua to understand that though Moses had died, He was still alive. Every Christian should consider several thoughts from these words.

First, it is not a man thing; it is a God thing. It wasn't Moses who delivered Israel through the wilderness, but it was God Who delivered them. It is very easy to get your eyes on man so much that you feel that God could never use you. My friend, man is only the tool God uses to accomplish His great works. Though a man may be a part of those great works, never mistake the man for what God did. The same God Who worked through Moses and men of God from the past can still work through you today if you will yield yourself to Him as they did.

Second, the God of yesteryear is still God today. God didn't die when those He used in the past were taken to Heaven. Christian, the same God Who used some of the heroes of the faith wants to use you. God is a multi-generational God Who has the same power today that He used through those in the past. I remember reading stories as a boy about God providing the needs for George Müller in his orphanage, and as I read about God’s providing hand it made me wonder if God could do the same for me. That wonder I had as a boy has been turned into experience as an adult because I have seen God come through time and time again. My friend, don't squelch the power of God by thinking that His works were for a previous generation. The God Who built great churches in previous generations can still build a great works today. The God Who answered miraculous prayers for those in the past can answer your great need today. The God Who came through for mom and dad is still able to come through for you today. God’s presence and power are as relevant today as it was in yesteryear.

Third, don't allow the daunting needs and tasks to take your attention away from your multi-generational God. If Joshua had focused on all that he had to do and all that needed to happen, he could have easily given up. Stop walking around with the weight of your needs and remember 1 Peter 5:7 which says, “Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” Your need may be great, but God is greater. You know God came through in the past, but let me remind you, “…as I was with Moses, so I will be with thee: I will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.” It’s time to stop worrying and get back to your normal self and realize that God will come through for you as He did for those in the past. Your God is alive and well today and is ready to meet your needs if you will simply ask and trust Him.