The Restrictions of Freedom

1 Corinthians 10:30

"For if I by grace be a partaker, why am I evil spoken of for that for which I give thanks?"

The Scriptures make it very clear that a person is saved by grace. God says, "For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:" (Ephesians 2:8) They also make it very clear that once a person gets saved they will always be saved. God says in Romans 6:23, "For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord." A person doesn't get saved and lose their salvation tomorrow because of something they have done; rather, once you are saved you are always saved.

The argument then comes that if someone is always saved, then they can do whatever they want which will lead them to live a worldly lifestyle. Paul addresses this issue in 1 Corinthians 10. Just because we are partakers of grace does not give us a license to sin. Paul makes it very clear that there are restrictions on the freedom that grace gives.

The first restriction is found in verse 29 when he says, "Conscience, I say, not thine own, but of the other: for why is my liberty judged of another man's conscience?" Notice, I can do anything as long as it doesn't cause another man to think I am doing wrong. In other words, I am to live my life in such a manner that nobody would ever think I am doing wrong. Yes, I am always saved no matter what, but I am to live my life so that others can see that I am saved. This is why you must be careful with the places you go and the crowds with whom you associate. You may walk into a liquor store just to buy a bottle of water, but someone else seeing you walk into that store will not know that; therefore, for the sake of their conscience you are not to walk into the liquor store. Simply put, you are to live your life so that another would never think or perceive you did something wrong.

The second restriction is found in verse 31 when he says, "Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God." The freedom of grace restricts me from doing anything that would not bring glory to God. There are some things that are not wrong, but do they bring glory to God? Everything I do is to bring glory to God. Every outside function in which I participate should bring glory to God. Every financial endeavor in which I invest should bring glory to God. As a Christian, you are restricted from doing anything that doesn't bring glory to God.

The third restriction is found in verse 32 when he says, "Give none offence, neither to the Jews, nor to the Gentiles, nor to the church of God:" Notice, I am not to do anything that would bring an "offence" against my church. You are a representative of your church everywhere you go. You are responsible to live your life in such a manner that nobody in your community would ever say anything negative about your church because of something you do. For instance, don't allow yourself to do someone wrong in business so that they would think everyone from your church does business that way. The freedom of grace restricts you to live in such a manner that would not bring reproach to your church.

Are you living within the restrictions of grace's freedom? You can simply bring these restrictions down to one thing: live for God with everything you do 24/7. When you make that your model, then you will not abuse your freedom in grace.