Bible Thoughts by Terry Hedderman

- Tuesday, 5/1/19  Galatians 1:23, But they had heard only, That he which persecuted us in times past now preacheth the faith which once he destroyed. What is your reaction when you are found to be wrong? Deny and defend our honor or turf? Only stop doing the wrong (grudgingly)? Or, own up to and work to fix the mistakes?  

                            Micah 7:18-19, Who is a God like unto thee, that pardoneth iniquity, and passeth by the transgression of the remnant of his heritage? he retaineth not his anger for ever, because he delighteth in mercy. He will turn again, he will have compassion upon us; he will subdue our iniquities; and thou wilt cast all their sins into the depths of the sea. No elaboration needed. Reread the verse several times...and throughout the day. PTL!!!

 

- Wednesday, 5/2/19  2 Corinthians 9:3, Yet have I sent the brethren, lest our boasting of you should be in vain in this behalf... Remember this was a VERY carnal church, yet Paul found ways to brag on them. Do we do that, or is someone 100% bad and worthless or 100% perfect? Give credit where credit is due. (And if appropriate, find fault too and express that.)                          Psalm 142:2, I poured out my complaint before [God]; I shewed before him my trouble. On the continuum between talking only to man vs. talking only to God about our needs, problems, enemies, and complaints, where do we most often find ourselves? I talk to God, but also, quite frequently, to man also. All of us probably need to strive to move a few (dozen) steps closer to the “God only” end.

 

- Thursday, 5/3/19  Psalm 143:8, Cause me to hear thy lovingkindness in the morning; for in thee do I trust: cause me to know the way wherein I should walk; for I lift up my soul unto thee. The context is “Dealing with Problems.” When stressed, we MUST get closer to the things of God, not farther from. We need more Bible, more prayer, more church, more fasting, more submission, not less.                                Psalm 143:10, Teach me to do thy will; for thou art my God: thy spirit is good; lead me into the land of uprightness. Of course, it’s always important to do rightly, but it is CRUCIAL to do so when we’re in some sort of trouble. This whole psalm concerns dealing with trouble. Are you in the midst of it right now? Honestly, do you find yourself more attentive to keeping His law, or less? More alert to the possibility of your stumbling, or less? More conscious of the eyes of others studying to see if your “religion” is sincere, or less? More concerned with upholding the reputation of the Lord, or less?

 

- Friday, 5/4/19  Psalm 145:8-9a, The Lord is gracious, and full of compassion; slow to anger, and of great mercy. The Lord is good to all... A very simple challenge: we must look at ourselves and see if we treat everyone alike or show favorites. We’re to be sweet, forgiving, tender, loving even to the “undeserving”...                           Acts 9:5, And he said, Who art thou, Lord? And the Lord said, I am Jesus whom thou persecutest: it is hard for thee to kick against the pricks. I don’t know for how long the Lord had been dealing with Saul; I know it took 5 years from my brother getting saved before I’d listen to him with less than an arrogant, contentious spirit. Five years...and the Holy Spirit was patiently persistent. Thank Him that He doesn’t give up on us after just a time or two. What a loving God!!!

 

- Saturday, 5/5/19  Psalm 126:1, When the Lord turned again the captivity of Zion, we were like them that dream. Then was our mouth filled with laughter, and our tongue with singing. Rejoicing for deliverance is great, but we’re to rejoice all the time: today in the ordinary, or in the darkest midnight. Grade yourself.                                 2 Kings 3:2b-3a, ...for [Jehoram] put away the image of Baal that his father had made. Nevertheless he cleaved unto the sins of Jeroboam... A common theme amongst the kings of Israel: partial righteousness. Or, in other words, they put a ceiling on their commitment level to God. Do you and I have a “Proceed no farther” limit on our obedience? Our willingness to surrender? Do we have a “pet sin” that is “Off limits” to the Holy Spirit? Are we “holy enough,” “dedicated enough,” or “fanatical enough”? Shame on us. When we see Him, we’ll wish we had given Him more.

 

- Sunday, 5/6/19  Micah 6:8, He hath shewed thee, O man, what is good; and what doth the Lord require of thee, but to do justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with thy God? What does God want me to do? Be fair toward others; extend mercy when they’re not to me; and relate honestly with God.                                   Philippians 1:9, And this I pray, that your love may abound yet more and more in knowledge and in all judgment. Love must be subject to and governed by principles. Unchecked, ungoverned emotion is treacherous and can lead to sin. Most love is an emotion and is therefore, variable. (True love is a choice to do rightly.) Let your love of God and knowledge of His word and will direct and deepen your love.                                Psalm 86:2, Preserve my soul; for I am holy: O thou my God, save thy servant that trusteth in thee. Upon first glance, this may sound like a very presumptuous and arrogant statement: “I am holy! Preserve me.”  But, if we’re born again, all of our sins, past, present, and future have been paid for. We’re justified. Biblical salvation is complete. Do YOU have it? Are you 100% assured that you’ll go to Heaven when your heart stops, be that in 10 minutes, 10 day, or 10 decades? You can be. Since 1983, I’ve had that assurance. Message me, and let me show you from the Bible how to have that. It’s not “Baptist doctrine”; it’s not “my church’s teaching”; it’s God’s word.

 

- Monday, 5/7/19  Psalm 147:1, Praise ye the Lord: for it is good to sing praises unto our God; for it is pleasant; and praise is comely. Praise is equated with singing. Do you praise God? With song? Sing, even if the best you can manage is “joyful noise.”                                Philippians 1:23-24, For I am in a strait betwixt two, having a desire to depart, and to be with Christ; which is far better: nevertheless to abide in the flesh is more needful for you. Do you sincerely want to see Christ? If the answer is “no,” maybe there are some things that you need to clean up right now. Vs 24, honestly, does anyone REALLY need you right now?  If the answer is “No,” maybe there are some things for you to clean up right now.

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Contact me at baptistcity@gmail.com for information on subscribing to the weekly email or daily text messages from Terry.