Bible Thoughts by Terry Hedderman

- Tuesday, 3/27/18  Proverbs 21:2, Every way of a man is right in his own eyes: but the Lord pondereth the hearts. Very simply: do you want things the way you can see them, from a human’s ground-level viewpoint, or would you rather use and trust God’s high and omniscient viewpoint? It’s an easy answer to verbalize: now live it.        
                     Proverbs 21:17, He that loveth pleasure shall be a poor man: he that loveth wine and oil shall not be rich. A simple self-analytical question: does whether something ranks as “fun” factor largely into how hard you’ll pursue it or wish to engage in it? Thrill seeking leads to a person who is deficient in many aspects of life. Hedonism never satisfied anyone. “Do right” even if it’s hard. Walk the path God intends for you to walk even if it is all uphill and full of rocks and thorns: His pleasure will make it all worth it not many days hence.
 
- Wednesday, 3/28/18  Psalm 86:12-13a, I will praise thee, O Lord my God, with all my heart: and I will glorify thy name for evermore. For great is thy mercy toward me... Much of the Christian life becomes more clear and much easier if we focus on His mercy toward us. How undeserving were you?                                   Psalm 115:1, Not unto us, O Lord, not unto us, but unto thy name give glory, for thy mercy, and for thy truth's sake. I’m very guilty here: when we try to orchestrate and manipulate the solution to our problems, we are trying to get glory for ourselves. When we initially stop, wait on the Lord, and pray over things, and then proceed as we feel He would have us, the spotlight is on Him. Let God do WHAT He wants, and let Him do it WHEN He wants to do it. Remember, you and I see our situation from our narrow, myopic viewpoint and want things to turn out best for US...He has more people in mind and a bigger stage. Hard lesson to learn...many refresher courses given.
 
- Thursday, 3/29/18  Proverbs 25:2, It is the glory of God to conceal a thing: but the honour of kings is to search out a matter. I confess, I’ve been very impatient with the Lord in my recent troubles: answers were slow in coming. But continued meditation on verses and searching has produced many answers. Quit being a welfare believer expecting the treasures of Heaven to be tossed to you like scraps from God’s table.                                     Luke 17:4, And if he trespass against thee seven times in a day, and seven times in a day turn again to thee, saying, I repent; thou shalt forgive him. Notice that the offended allowed the offender to get close enough again to hurt him 6 MORE TIMES.  It seems that forgiveness that DOESN’T clear the record as if the offense never happened ISN’T FORGIVENESS. Or, to look at the other side, if we “forgive” but keep the offender at arm’s length...there’s been no forgiveness. Now, go TRULY forgive your parents; your spouse; your former boss; your ex...forgive, and NEVER MENTION IT AGAIN, EVEN TO YOURSELF. And if he trespass against thee seven times in a day, and seven times in a day turn again to thee, saying, I repent; thou shalt forgive him.
 
- Friday, 3/30/18  Ezekiel 28:2, Son of man, say unto the prince of Tyrus, Thus saith the Lord God; Because thine heart is lifted up, and thou hast said, I am a God, I sit in the seat of God...yet thou art a man, and not God, though thou set thine heart as the heart of God. Sin and pride can make anyone WAAAYY stupid...even you; even me. We must humble ourselves by choice or He will, and it won’t be as palatable.                                   Luke 17:10, So likewise ye, when ye shall have done all those things which are commanded you, say, We are unprofitable servants: we have done that which was our duty to do. Notice that doing ALL that we’re supposed to do = no profits for the Master. Getting to the break even point should be our first objective...and then going beyond. We’re commanded to love one another; forgive as God does; meditate on the Bible night and day...so I guess we’ve got more spiritual ground to conquer. “Let’s go!! Break Time is over!! Time to fight the next battle!!”
 
- Saturday, 3/31/18  John 12:7, Then said Jesus, Let her alone: against the day of my burying hath she kept this. In our inherent pride, we think how we worship Christ is THE right way. Let others worship God how they feel right. He can correct it if He wants. If you need to keep a distance from them, OK, but quit criticizing.                                    Psalm 119:27, Make me to understand the way of thy precepts: so shall I talk of thy wondrous works. We are often guilty of knowing the precepts and talking of His works, but not so often the “way” lifestyle, reasons, nuances of the precepts. Maybe this is why so many of our youth abandon “the rigid rules Dad preached.” WHY do you believe what you believe? What good is living the Christian life? Explain the “why’s” behind the “what’s.”
 
- Sunday, 4/1/18  2 Kings 7:9a, Then they said one to another, We do not well. Very bluntly: whose sins are you more likely to see and confess: your own or another’s? Regardless of how we view the situation, God says you and I, at best, have a beam, while everyone else, at worst, has a splinter. “WE (you, me, us) do not well.”                              Galatians 1:11-12, But I certify you, brethren, that the gospel which was preached of me is not after man. For I neither received it of man, neither was I taught it, but by the revelation of Jesus Christ. Very simply, when was the last time God opened His word to you? I am very sure that one reason that He’s given me at least 2 fresh thoughts each day for over 8 years is because I share what I get. I send out a daily text, and post here on FB. Do you WANT to hear from the Lord? Maybe break the logjam: share some things you know. (Message me for more suggestions on getting started.)
 
- Monday, 4/2/18  Psalm 119:59, I thought on my ways, and turned my feet unto thy testimonies. Step 1: reflect on our own spiritual condition: strengths, weaknesses, sins. Step 2: Repent (in heart, in head.) Step 3: Confess to God and others. Step 4: Start walking a different path. Step 5: repeat. Don’t stop before the final step.                                 Very little of the Christian life is to be DONE TO/FOR us. Most of the instruction for the preacher is the same as it is for me. God knows no tiers for His kids.  Psalm 119:171, My lips shall utter praise, when thou hast taught me thy statues. Are you guilty of thinking that since someone else “is better at that, I’ll let them do it. That’s not my forte”? No, each of us it to praise; each of us is to worship (those are different); each is to pray; each is to give; each is to serve; each is to win souls; each is to mine the Bible for golden nuggets of truth; each is to confess; each is to humble themselves; each is to exhort the other; each is to forgive.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Bible thoughts from some others:
- God poured out His wrath on His son, in order that He might pour out his mercy on me.
 
- Pro 23:7, For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he: Eat and drink, saith he to thee, but his heart is not with thee. We need to be very careful where and with whom we go to eat, for appearance and safety’s sake. We owe that to our Saviour, Who paid our sin debt and saved us.
 
- Psalm 124:4, Then the waters had overwhelmed us, the streams had gone over our soul. PTL that we’re not the first to get down, depressed, and beside ourselves.
 
- Mark 10:15, Verily I say unto you, Whosoever shall not receive the kingdom of God as a little child, he shall not enter therein. The need for child-like faith for the salvation of a lost sinner cannot be overemphasized. The proud will never get eternal salvation.
 
- Acts 17:21, For all the Athenians and strangers which were there spent their time in nothing else, but either to tell, or to hear some new thing. This is what we would find being taught, discussed, and preached in our schools of higher education today. No absolute, godly truth.
 
- 1 Cor 12:18, But now hath God set the members everyone of them in the body, as it hath pleased him. There are no unimportant parts in the body of God’s family! It is not for us to decide who is most important and who is most needed. That’s His choice, not ours.
 
- Ps 130:2, Lord hear my voice: let thine ears be attentive to the voice of my supplication. This should be our heart’s cry every day.
 
- Mark 10:40, But to sit on my right hand and on my left hand is not mine to give, but it shall be given to them for whom it is prepared. Places of honor and authority are God’s business. We need to be busy doing what He wants us to do and be less concerned about our position.
 
- Even if you do not get a thing from reading the Bible or being faithful to church, it proves that you showed up for God when He needed you. That holds powerful leverage for when you need God to show up for you.
 
- It's harder to pretend to be a Christian than to be a Christian. Living a double standard is living two lives which shortens a lifespan.  2 Corinthians 11:3, ... so your minds should be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ.
 
- God doesn't remember the sins you can't forget.
 
- Seek for God to be your Master, not your Friend. If you make him your Master, He will choose to be your Friend.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Miscellaneous thoughts from others:
- Cell phones are a dangerous distraction when driving. They are also a dangerous distraction when walking with God.
 
- The only way to beat the devil at his own game is to stop playing games with the devil.
 
- It was not when I arrived at the bottom that I came back to God. It was when I came to myself. Some people hit bottom a long time before they find themselves. Hitting bottom is consequential. Coming to self is convicting.
 
- Sometimes a strong won't is more important than a strong will.
 
- Parent do NOT blame yourself for a prodigal child. God is THE perfect Father. Is it also His fault when His kids mess up?
 
- Don't throw in the towel. Instead use it to wipe another brow or to wash another's feet. As long as you keep using the towel it will give you reason not to throw it in. READ THAT AGAIN!!!
 
- You will never climb to the top of the mountain until you spend extended time on your knees in the valley.
 
- There is always a good excuse not to pray, so make your reasons to pray bigger than your excuses.
 
- God's delays and detours are meant to either lead us to a better place or protect us from a dangerous one.
 
- Forgiveness reveals that you meant it when you said you love someone. Unforgiveness reveals you were lying.
 
- If you tripped over me when I fell, you may blame me for your fall, but do not blame me that you never got back up.
 
- Some of the most important lessons I have learned about forgiveness came from people who refused to forgive me. Thank you teachers.
 
- I stopped waiting for someone to give me a chance to be used of God again, and began taking every chance God gave me to help someone who is hurting.
 
- God's peace is not an escape from troubles but an oasis in our troubles.
 
- The older I get, the less I want what I once thought I could not live without and the more I want the things I once thought I did not need.
 
- Don't ask God to make you as good a Christian as another unless you're willing to accept their trials as part of the answer.
 
- Your hurt may be another's fault but your vengeful response to that hurt is on you.
 
- It is easy to be attracted to a person of success, but it takes discipline to follow the path they took to the point of attraction
 
- If the burden is too small to take to the Lord, then don't bother others with it.
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Contact me at baptistcity@gmail.com for information on subscribing to the weekly email or daily text messages from Terry.