Bible Thoughts by Terry Hedderman

- Tuesday, 3/6/18  Luke 4:44, And he preached in the synagogues of Galilee. We preach sermons about Jesus’ miracles; children hear Bible stories of them. But, this verse speaks of hours and days of unknown, un-celebrated “boring” toil...no miracles, just teaching. Big days are rare: do right every day.                              2 Peter 1:13, Yea, I think it meet, as long as I am in this tabernacle, to stir you up by putting you in remembrance... There is a great danger in looking for “new truth.” There is nothing new: If you’ve been in church a year, you have heard all of the vital pieces to the Christian life: now just implement them. And brag on your pastor if he’s courageous enough to repeat the obvious. SS teachers and preachers: it’s not your job to find something new and spectacular; it’s your job to repackage “leftovers” so as to make them seem new and spectacular.
 
- Wednesday, 3/7/18  “Why is God allowing THIS into my life?” Psalm 55:19b, Because they have no changes, therefore they fear not God. The changes in life remind us that the things we treasure are “as a vapor” and sit in start contrast to the permanence and stability of God and our relationship to Him.                            Luke 6:36, Be ye therefore merciful, as your Father also is merciful. So, the obvious question is, “How is God merciful?”  1He has mercy at the ready: it’s “new every morning.”  2He gives it immediately upon request.  3He gives more than requested. (At salvation, most of us simply wanted to not go to Hell.)  4He frequently gives it even when we don’t request it.  5And, once mercy has been given, He won’t mention the offense again.  6He gives it on the basis of Who He is and not on “how bad” the offense was.
 
- Thursday, 3/8/18  Matthew 5:16, Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.  Don’t forget that maybe you’re supposed to be the lighthouse in someone else’s storm...be on the job today and shine forth with every watt you’ve got.                                  James 4:17, Therefore to him that knoweth to do good, and doeth it not, to him it is sin. Let’s see, is it good to forgive those who’ve done you wrongly? Or, how about “confirming your love” toward one who did wrong but wants to be right? Is is good to never mention an offense again? Is it good to go the extra mile in restoring a sinful brother? Is it good to maybe honestly examine if that grudge they hold against you has some merit? Is it good to humble yourself and apologize, even if you’re 10% of the problem and they are 90% of the problem? Is it good to honor your parents? To love those who’ve hurt you? So...what’s keeping you from it?
 
- Friday, 3/9/18  Psalm 61:2, From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed. When all you have is God, you’re in REALLY good shape. When things are toughest, don’t forsake your biggest, bestest Ally.                          Psalm 61:5, For thou, O God, hast heard my vows: thou hast given me the heritage of those that fear thy name. Those that gave you this heritage: do you think they always had it easy? No problems? 100% answered prayer 100% of the time? Joy 24/7? Always a clear view of the upcoming road? ‘Don’t think so. Keeping on keeping on even when it’s dark as midnight and the road is bumpy and treacherous...that’s what gives the next generation a good heritage. Don’t quit...there will be people 20-30-50 years from now taking encouragement from you.
 
- Saturday, 3/10/18  Psalm 62:10, Trust not in oppression, and become not vain in robbery: if riches increase, set not your heart upon them. Wrong methods can produce seemingly good results; and all that is “good” isn’t. Let the Bible be your guide, map, and measuring stick.                                    Psalm 22:1, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me? why art thou so far from helping me, and from the words of my roaring? Before a trial, we may feel close to God. After a trial, we may feel close to God. During a trial, it’s normal to feel forsaken.  1Both David and Jesus said these words, so you and I probably will too.  2Rest assured, God won’t, can’t forsake us. He’s there, even if He’s unseen. (God was in Christ reconciling the world, 2 Cor 5:19. Yet, Jesus felt forsaken.)  3Since life is cyclical, things will get better...hang tough and do rightly...for the next 24 hours: that’s all you have to do.
 
- Sunday, 3/11/18  Proverbs 6:2, Thou art snared with the words of thy mouth, thou art taken with the words of thy mouth. I know 90% of my problems come because of my mouth...you can always say it later, but you can never unsay it. Be quiet; walk away; think about it; count to 10...whatever you’ve gotta do.                                   Luke 8:37, Then the whole multitude of the country of the Gadarenes round about besought him to depart from them; for they were taken with great fear: and he went up into the ship, and returned back again. These people forfeited the presence of Christ because things were not happening in a way that they thought they should. I wonder how often we do just the same thing: “God can’t be involved: look at all these problems I’ve got!” “I’m better/smarter/more qualified than that guy: I’m not going to be just an assistant in the SS class. I should be teaching!”  “God’s mad at me. Why else would my child have cancer?”  “If God’s gonna treat me THIS way, I’m through with my Bible!!” Been there? I have...(thankfully, not for a long time, but still...)
 
- Monday, 3/12/18  Luke 9:16b-17a, ...gave to the disciples to set before the multitude. And they did eat, and were all filled... Twelve disciples feeding 20,000 people. No doubt, some got impatient at the “slow service,” yet, when it was all done, they were filled. I wonder how often we’re in the midst of a miracle, and gripe. Ouch.                             Luke 9:18-20a, And it came to pass, as he was alone praying, his disciples were with him: and he asked them, saying, Whom say the people that I am? They answering said, John the Baptist; but some say, Elias; and others say, that one of the old prophets is risen again. He said unto them, But whom say ye that I am? My Christianity or the Preacher’s Christianity or your parents’ Christianity won’t help you at all. He has to be YOUR Saviour. No one can get born again for you. (Are you? Could you tell me a clear story??) No one can walk with God for you. No one can read your Bible for you. You could go to the greatest church in the world and have the most spiritual friends and family...and go to Hell, or go to Heaven and be embarrassed because you wasted your life. It’s all your choice(s). Choose today whom you will serve... You WILL serve someone. Don’t choose yourself; don’t choose another human being; don’t choose the Devil. Consciously, choose to serve Jesus Christ...by serving others.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Bible thoughts from some others:
- Ps 119:10, With my whole heart I have sought thee; let me not wander from thy commandments. Half-hearted pursuit of God kills a life for God.
 
- Pro 31:5, Lest they drink, and forget the law, and pervert the judgment of any of the afflicted. Alcohol should be avoided by all, but especially by those who lead, and have positions of responsibility or authority.
 
- Mark 8:29, And he saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am? And Peter answereth and saith unto him, Thou art the Christ. This is the question that every person must answer. The eternal destiny of everyone who ever lives depends on it.
 
- Mark 8:36-37, For what shall it profit a man if he shall gain the whole world and lose his own soul? Or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul? What is the value of a man’s eternal, never-dying soul? It cost our Saviour, but what value do WE place on it?
 
- Ps 119:50, This is my comfort in my affliction: for thy word hath quickened me. PTL for the strengthening power of the God’s word in times of need.
 
- Mark 9:29, And he said unto them, This kind can come forth by nothing, but by prayer and fasting. If we ever needed ‘this kind,’ it’s today.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Miscellaneous thoughts from others:
- Today's affliction may be tomorrow's ministry.
 
- Jesus gave up His reputation but kept His perfect character. Sadly, many would give up their character to maintain their perfect reputation.
 
- When God will not change your circumstances, you probably ought to assume He is trying to change you.
 
- There would be no progress in knowledge and understanding in any field, including religion, if questioning were taboo.
 
- People who rob God don't get a free pass. They get mercy, sometimes for years, and then God collects it all at once.
 
- The strongest men I ever met were submissive to their wives and the strongest women I ever met were submissive to their husbands.
 
- My mom used to tell me when I was young to not be the kind of person that had to make my own mistakes in order to learn anything in life. She taught me to learn from the mistakes of others. She taught me that before each endeavor, I should get advice, not from people who have lived a month longer than I have, but from those who have lived many years longer than I have. She said that people who always insist that they have to make their own mistakes in order to learn will usually make them. The way to live a life with as little mistakes as possible is through the hindsight of other people. This has served me well.
 
- The quickest way to become disappointed in God is to expect Him to make things turn out the way we think they should.
 
- God only sets His plow on the hearts which He intends to use.
 
- God has put my sins behind his back so if you are talking about them you are going behind God's back.
 
- Worrying is our way of telling God that we aren't sure that He can be trusted.
 
- Don’t let your emotions be your primary decision maker.
 
- Don’t put your pastor on a pedastal from which he could be knocked down; put him on your prayer list so he could be lifted up.
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Contact me at baptistcity@gmail.com for information on subscribing to the weekly email or daily text messages from Terry.