Bible thoughts by Terry Hedderman

- Tuesday, 11/8/22  Luke 11:4a, And forgive us our sins; for we also forgive every one that is indebted to us. Are we really willing to allow God to

use OUR standard of forgiveness as His basis for dealing with you and I? Examine your heart: is there even a hint of a grudge remaining?                                  Matthew 26:39-40, And he went a little further, and fell on his face, and prayed, saying... And he cometh unto the disciples, and findeth them asleep, and saith unto Peter, What, could ye not watch with me one hour? Three times the Lord went away, and three times He came back. Practical lesson: even He didn’t pray for one long extended period: He broke it up with a break. It is possible for you and I to pray for a long periods, but probably not one long, non-stop period.

- Wednesday, 11/9/22  Matthew 28:6, He is not here: for he is risen, as he said. Come, see the place where the Lord lay. “Because He lives I can face tomorrow. Because He lives all fear is gone. Because I know He holds the future, And life is worth the living Just because He lives.” Soldier on dear saint.                            Psalm 116:7, Return unto thy rest, O my soul; for the Lord hath dealt bountifully with thee. It’s our fault when we wander from His rest, and it’s our responsibility to get back to it. We are as close to God as we choose to be.

- Thursday, 11/10/22  “Why do I seem to have SSOOOO many trials??” Isaiah 6:1, In the year that king Uzziah died I saw also the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up, and his train filled the temple. Trials often are the means that God uses to knock the scales off of our eyes so that we can better see Him.                             Isaiah 12:2, Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the Lord Jehovah is my strength and my song; he also is become my salvation. Assure yourself of your present, and resolve to treat the future as you should. (Reread the verse.) Meditate on what you’ve got.

- Friday, 11/11/22  Luke 17:3, Take heed to yourselves: If thy brother trespass against thee, rebuke him; and if he repent, forgive him. This’ll be hard: some of us need to obey the first command: rebuke our brother. 1) He may not know he’s being offensive. 2) Maybe he’ll back off if confronted. 3) It’s part of doing all you can to keep your spirit safe. If it’s going to bother you anyway, say something.

- Saturday, 11/12/22  Mark 4:18-19, And these are they which are sown among thorns; such as hear the word, And the cares of this world, and the deceitfulness of riches, and the lusts of other things entering in, choke the word, and it becometh unfruitful. An introspective question: how long has it been since you’ve had to weed your heart? Since you saw an entrenched problem (i.e. a sin), acknowledged it, and worked on it?                                    Matthew 15:32-33, Then Jesus called his disciples unto him, and said, I have compassion on the multitude, because they continue with me now three days, and have nothing to eat: and I will not send them away fasting, lest they faint in the way. And his disciples say unto him, Whence should we have so much bread in the wilderness, as to fill so great a multitude? Jesus then fed the 4000. Why didn’t the apostles reference the prior feeding of the 5000? To me, that’s ludicrous. “Hey Jesus, last month You did...could you do it again?” Likewise, there are shortcomings in us that others see plainly, but to which we are oblivious.  1) Search yourself.  2) If pointing out a flaw in another, assume ignorance on their part and not evil neglect.  3) Reassure them of your love and their worth to you and to God.

- Sunday, 11/13/22  Psalm 45:1, My heart is inditing (gushing about) a good matter: I speak of the things which I have made touching the king: my tongue is the pen of a ready writer. Oh that we’d be far more like the psalmist here. Maybe resolve in your heart and promise the Lord to speak at work to 3 people this week.                         Psalm 46:10-11, Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth. The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah. Just like penicillin still works, this verse is a tried and true “antibiotic” to the chaotic world around us. Be still (by choice), open your mind to His awesomeness, and realize He is still by your side.

Monday, 11/14/22  Psalm 46:10, Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.  “I am; I will; I will; be still.” “I am; I will; I will; be still.” (You say it.) “I am; I will; I will; be still.” This’ll work on a Monday!!                               “He who does the teaching does the learning.” Psalm 118:1-2, O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: because his mercy endureth for ever. Let Israel now say, that his mercy endureth for ever. Realize His goodness and therefore, give thanks. Now, to seal it deep in your heart, say it, out loud, to another: “My God’s mercy endures for ever!! Is it on you?”

_______________________________________________________________________________________________
Contact me at baptistcity@gmail.com for information on subscribing to the weekly email or daily text messages from Terry.