Bible Thoughts by Terry Hedderman

Wednesday, 8/31/16  Ps 119:71, It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn thy statutes. Too often we focus and gripe about the afflictions, which generally makes us miss the lessons, which means we’re going to get more problems to teach us the lesson we were to learn previously. 
                Ps 119:113, I hate vain thoughts: but thy law do I love.  “Hating vain thoughts” indicate an alertness, a judging, and a verdict, and probably the action of dealing with, confessing, and distancing ourselves from them.            John 21:15, So when they had dined, Jesus said to Simon Peter, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me more than these? (Grammatically and contextually, Jesus was referring to the fish, i.e. his profession.) Three times Jesus asked Peter if he loved Him deeply and unconditionally while referring to the fish, and three times Peter responded with the lesser word for love. What if He asked you the question while gesturing toward your job or videos or friends or hobbies or your reputation or your country? It’s a question to ponder in consultation of the Holy Spirit.
 
Thursday, 9/1/16  Ps 119:129, Thy testimonies are wonderful: therefore doth my soul keep them. We must discipline ourselves to only think positive thoughts concerning anything related to the Bible. This will increase our obedience.                  Rom 2:1, Therefore thou art inexcusable, O man, whosoever thou art that judgest: for wherein thou judgest another, thou condemnest thyself: for thou that judgest doest the same things. God doesn’t categorize sins like we do (“big,” “little,” “justifiable,” “heinous,” etc.) To Him, sin is simply crossing His line, purposefully and willfully. As far as degree, He only knows of “horrendous, damning” sins, and “greater” ones than those.              Ps 119:153, Consider mine affliction, and deliver me: for I do not forget thy law. Is your commitment to the Bible ingrained deeply enough that it will continue through an affliction?
 
Friday, 9/2/16  Ps 119:136, Rivers of waters run down mine eyes, because they keep not thy law. “Lord help me first to weep over my own sins, and then over others’.”        Ps 119:150-151, They draw nigh that follow after mischief: they are far from thy law. Thou art near, O Lord; and all thy commandments are truth. In v150, they are “getting near.” In v151, He’s already beside you. Rest easy, dear friend: the Almighty has got your back!!
 
Saturday, 9/3/16  Ps 94:18, When I said, My foot slippeth; thy mercy, O Lord, held me up. Don’t neglect to acknowledge (& thank) God’s little interventions in our days (helping you to regain your balance.)               Ps 93:1, The Lord reigneth, he is CLOTHED with majesty; the Lord is CLOTHED with strength, wherewith he hath GIRDED himself: the world also is stablished, that it cannot be moved. Wear God’s Fall outfits: you CAN handle what’s on your plate today...with His help.
 
Sunday, 9/4/16  Mala 1:2a, I have loved you, saith the Lord. Period!!! In spite of your sin, your lies, your selfishness, your pride, your cutting words, your lack of forgiveness. I have loved you, saith the Lord. Now, “Go, and do thou likewise.”           Mala 1:2a, I have loved you, saith the Lord. We have every reason to love God and we often don’t. He has no earthly reason to love us and He always does. Praise Him now, and bask in that love all day, and tell someone about such a Lover this week.
 
Monday, 9/5/16  Ps 106:1, Praise ye the Lord. O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: FOR his mercy endureth for ever. If you want to be considered “good,” then you HAVE to be forgiving and that mercy has to be long-term. (Let it go!! Let the hurt and the anger and the bitterness from the past go...)           Num 11:30, Moses’ father-in-law, after being invited to join God’s people said, “I will not go; but I will depart to mine own land, and to my kindred.”  Question: do you put family or geography over God and His will?
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Bible thoughts from some others:
- Ps 119:124, Deal with thy servant according unto thy mercy, and teach me thy statutes. This needs to be our daily prayer and heart’s cry.
 
- Ps 119:147, I prevented the dawning of the morning, and cried: I hoped in thy word. When we have burdens, early morning is the best time to get God’s attention and help.
 
- Mal 3:8, Will a man rob God? Yet ye have robbed me. But ye say, Wherein have we robbed thee? In tithes and offerings. Stealing and robbing a bank is a serious crime, but stealing from God is not only serious, but dangerous. It’s His, not ours.
 
- Pro 31:31, Give her of the fruit of her hands, and let her own works praise her in the gates. A godly, virtuous woman will be remembered and known.
 
- Pro 25:28, He that hath no rule over his own spirit is like a city that is broken down, and without walls. Self-control, and self-restraint is far more important than skill, talent, and ambition.
 
- Matt 15:8, This people draweth nigh unto me with their mouth, and honoreth me with their lips, but their heart is far from me. I wonder if this is not true of many in our world today, even in our fundamental Baptist churches? May we be convicted today.
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Contact me at baptistcity@gmail.com for information on subscribing to the weekly email or daily text messages from Terry.