Bible thoughts by Terry Hedderman

- Tuesday, 4/25/23  Matthew 5:41, And whosoever shall compel thee to go a mile, go with him twain. Obedience is walking a mile in another’s shoes. Mercy is

doing it sweetly after their imposition. Grace is washing their feet and polishing the shoes after walking in them.                             Psalm 5:1, Give ear to my words, O Lord, consider my meditation. If you knew God was listening and would act immediately, would you have the courage to pray this prayer? If He reviewed the words and thoughts of your last 48 hours: give yourself a grade on how embarrassed you’d be. If the whole truth were told, I’m sure all of us could acknowledge and change quite a bit.

- Wednesday, 4/26/23  This is one of the verses that “zings” me every time I read it. Psalm 2:6, Yet have I set my king upon my holy hill of Zion. “YET”!! Regardless of the visible power of the world and the enemies of God: “YET.” God isn’t fazed at all; why should we be? Go be what God wants today.                              Are you in the midst of a storm? Regardless of how fierce the winds of fear and foes blow; no matter the state of your banking accounts; no matter how fragile and failing your health is:  here is a warm, comforting, calming thought:  Psalm 46:11, The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.

- Thursday, 4/27/23  Psalm 4:1a, HEAR ME when I call, O God of my righteousness. We all want to feel that what we say and feel matters to another. Are the people in your sphere of influence assured that you care, that you’ll listen, that you love them? Don’t answer glibly: think about it, and make them MORE sure.                                   Psalm 46:10, Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.  1) Quit moving and talking! PHYSICALLY stop (and mentally think.)   2) God is at work orchestrating how HE will be exalted.   3) Therefore, your situation might not be an A+, but the overall picture will be.  [Someone has to sit in the back of the bus as it goes to Great America.]   4) This awesome God is with you.

- Friday, 4/28/23  Psalm 4:2, O ye sons of men, how long will ye turn my glory into shame? how long will ye love vanity, and seek after leasing? In V1, David asked God to hear him. In response, God told His people to quit their sin. Remember: God’s first priority is our holiness, not our comfort or our feelings.                                Psalm 50:7, Hear, O my people, and I will speak; O Israel, and I will testify against thee: I am God, even thy God. What is God’s testimony? What’s He got to say? That He’s self-sufficient and doesn’t need man. Then, in vv 14-15 He tells what He wants: “thank you’s”, fulfilled vows (keeping of promises), and to be needed. He WANTS us to be needy children coming to Daddy...just not whining selfish brats who demand things their way and for their pleasure.

- Saturday, 4/29/23  “Lord, what in the WORLD are You doing???”  “I’m teaching you to trust Me, My child.”  Proverbs 22:19, That thy trust may be in the Lord, I have made known to thee THIS DAY, even to thee. He’s only going to show us the next step or two, and yet tells us to “run the race.” Yep: run forward in almost complete darkness.                              Proverbs 24:27, Prepare thy work without, and make it fit for thyself in the field; and afterwards build thine house. The Lord would have us live our lives on purpose. Of course, things come up that need to be dealt with, and thus, change our plans. But not EVERY fire needs to have our attention and be put out. Some will burn themselves out. Even with changes, live on purpose.

- Sunday, 4/30/23  Psalm 46:11, The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Here’s another “zinger” verse. The God Who has unlimited power, unlimited knowledge, perfect holiness is WITH sinful, selfish me. He’s the Refuge for the sneaky conniving people as well as the “good Christians.” AMEN!                            Acts 7:10, [God] delivered [Joseph] out of all his afflictions, and gave him favour and wisdom in the sight of Pharaoh king of Egypt; and he made him governor over Egypt and all his house. You and I are as much of a child of God as Joseph or Abraham or Moses. So, in His time, after He accomplishes His will, the Lord will deliver us from all of our afflictions too, guaranteed. Right now, we’re to just seek His will and do what He wants.

- Monday, 5/1/23  Matthew 14:14, And Jesus went forth, and saw a great multitude, and was moved with compassion toward them, and he healed their sick. “Lord, please open my eyes, forgive my hard-heartedness, and move me with compassion so I can be more like You. Please, dear Lord!!”                              Matthew 14:15-16, And when it was evening, his disciples came to him, saying, This is a desert place, and the time is now past; send the multitude away, that they may go into the villages, and buy themselves victuals. But Jesus said unto them, They need not depart; give ye them to eat. Compassion looks to solve problems; selfishness looks to remove them or shift the responsibility elsewhere.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________
Contact me at baptistcity@gmail.com for information on subscribing to the weekly email or daily text messages from Terry.