Bible Thoughts by Terry Hedderman

Sunday, 6/29/14  Ps 139:16 (referring to the Psalmist when he was in the womb) Thine eyes did see my substance, yet being unperfect; and in thy book all my members were written, which in continuance were fashioned, when as yet there was none of them.YOU are a Designer’s original: act special cuz you are.              God has a will for every aspect of our lives. Either He communicates His wishes by commandment, principle, example, or wise common sense. If we’re unsure of what we should do, we should always err on the side of more godliness, more holiness, less carnality. These current debates about modest dress on women are absolutely retarded, in my opinion. I personally think God is rather clear on what He wants in how 21st century American women dress. If it’s unclear to you, that’s fine, but why is it that in your uncertainty, you choose the option that is “easier” on you? That makes “more sense” to you? That is closer to how the unsaved dress? That is less noticeable by the ungodly crowd? If you must choose, why not choose the more modest, the more reserved, the “holier,” option? The option that more clearly signifies that there is something different about you? The option that is unquestionably not wrong.  To put it simply, I believe the debate is not a search for God’s will or what He says in His word: it’s a cover for hearts unwilling to submit to whatever He wants. Ps 139:23-24 Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me, and know my thoughts: and see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Monday, 6/30/14  We prepare for the inevitable: in the Fall, we unpack our hats and gloves and boots. In November, we think of Christmas decor. In the Spring, we look at seed catalogs or garden magazines in preparation for summer. Matt 11:11 ...he that is least in the kingdom of heaven is greater than [John the Baptist.] All of will be greater than John. How so? In holiness, love for God and for the brethren, and in hatred for sin. Prepare for the inevitable.                    God will nag you on an issue until you surrender or judgment falls. Jonah rebelled, ran, was judged, and was then given the exact same command he had refused: “Go to Nineveh.” Balaam was clearly told not to go with the ambassadors of Barak, but persisted in his self-will, and the angel would’ve killed him except for the talking donkey. How dare you say to God, “Oh, we’re not going there” when He brings up an issue (make that, “sin”) that He wants you to deal with. (And don’t think that because the message comes from a “FB preacher” that God is not in it.) Pro 29:1 He that being often reproved, hardeneth his neck, shall suddenly be destroyed, and that without remedy.

Tuesday, 7/1/14  Ps 2:3 (Referring to the desire of those who oppose “the Lord [God] and his anointed [Jesus]) Let us break their bands asunder, and cast away their cords from us. Notice 2 things:  1God has restrictions; and,  2wanting to throw off those restrictions is wicked.               Gen 24:14 And let it come to pass, that the damsel to whom I shall say, Let down thy pitcher, I pray thee, that I may drink; and she shall say, Drink, and I will give thy camels drink also: let the same be she that thou hast appointed for thy servant Isaac... Our concept of dating is sorely flawed. For a couple to go out to eat and play together as preparation for marriage does not realistically represent marriage. See your sweetheart AT WORK!!  Are they willing to work? Diligent? Do they finish the job? Do they whine incessantly? Do they take a 20 minute break every half-hour? Marriage is great, but it involves a LOT more hard, repetitious work than it does nice dinners and quiet conversations.

Wednesday, 7/2/14  “Are you weary? Are you heavy hearted?”  Ps 81:1 Sing aloud unto God our strength: make a joyful noise unto the God of Jacob. Sure, sometimes, we need to simply rest...but oftentimes, we need to hook back up to the Heavenly Charger. Go have some “noisy” time with the Lord.                 Ps 82:1 God standeth in the congregation of the mighty; he judgeth among the gods. The judges will be judged. The rulers will be ruled. Are you ready for the Judgment Seat of Christ? Each of us will give an individual account of our degree of faithfulness.

Thursday, 7/3/14  Remember how in Job 1, God said Job was the best man in the whole world? (Not sinless, but sincere and holy?) Job 42:6 Wherefore I abhor myself, and repent in dust and ashes. In God’s presence note his demeanor. Truly, “when we look on His face, we’ll wish we had given Him more.”             Gal 6:1 Brethren, if a man be overtaken in a fault, ye which are spiritual, restore such an one in the spirit of meekness; considering thyself, lest thou also be tempted. When I see or hear of someone who knows better but who is going contrary is clear Bible teaching, I am not angry with them: I feel sorry for them...they’ve been duped, lied to, beguiled, trapped, ensnared. I’m no better than they: I have my own sins with which I’m struggling. Though I don’t consider myself to be spiritual, if I can help them, I will. If one of my former students or anyone I know needs my help, please, please, please message me. You’ve got a friend in Terry Hedderman and you’ve always had a friend in me. The hard preaching via my posts is preventative, not vindictive. Call me.

Friday, 7/4/14  Ps 145:1 I will extol thee, my God, O king; and I will bless thy name for ever and ever. This is a peek into our future. V2a Every day will I bless thee. Since there are no days in Heaven, David said he was going to start now. Don’t wait for the Main Event: this is the practice field. Go to it!!                 Pro 31:3 Give not thy strength unto women, nor thy ways to that which destroyeth kings. Men, women are wonderful, but our testosterone doesn’t know the meaning of or the difference between “purity” or “fornication.” Temptation is always easier to avoid than to overcome. Do right!! You can!! You must!!! Others are watching and will copy your example. Live the Spirit controlled life, not the flesh controlled one.

Saturday, 7/5/14  Ps 147:1 Praise ye the Lord: for it is good to sing praises unto our God; for it is pleasant; and praise is comely. We oftentimes sing in church thoughtlessly because we have it memorized; we maybe do the same with recorded music. When was the last time you sang TO God?            Gen 31:5b ...but the God of my father hath been with me1The God of your father has the same character, commandments, Word, and ways that He’s always had. “I change not.”  2Only by our own purposeful and personal choice does that God become our God. Don’t settle for a lesser relationship than your fathers’.  3Each generation must choose and accept Him themselves.  4God’s character doesn’t change in response to our character or actions, but His actions vary depending on our character and actions.
Thoughts from some others
Ps 50:15 Call upon me in the day of trouble: I will deliver thee, and thou shalt glorifyme. Troubles of life are opportunities to call upon God, to experience deliverance, and to glorify Him. I’m afraid we gripe and complain more than we call and rely upon Him.
Pro 30:5 Every word of God is pure: he is a shield unot them that put their trust in him. Don’t forget your protection today: read God’s word and trust it.
Ps 53:1-4  The fool has no heart for God and can do no right with that attitude. Only God’s Holy Spirit can change the heart.
Deut 20:4 Your God is he that goeth with you, to fight for you against your enemies, to save you. Too bad America doesn’t have a God Who is this great and powerful and the faith to trust Him.
1 Pet 3:8 Finally be ye all of one mind, having compassion one of another, love as brethren, be pitiful, be courteous. These verse woudl be appropriate for conduct in every home. Whatever happened to courtesy and love in our conduct with our family, and especially with our spouse?
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Contact me at baptistcity@gmail.com for information on subscribing to the weekly email or daily text messages from Terry.