Bible Thoughts by Terry Hedderman

Sunday, 9/14/14  John 10:21 Others said, These are not the words of him that hath a devil. Can a devil open the eyes of the blind? In trying to validate Jesus, they asked if devils could do miracles. YES they can.  1Beware of needing more than the Bible.  2Beware of things more spectacular than the Bible.  3There is no higher authority than the Bible (2 Peter 1:19).  4Miracles alone, are not proof of godliness, or goodness.               How to be talk like a wise guy. Pro 8:6-9 Hear; for I will speak of excellent things (noble, princely topics); and the opening of my lips shall be right (just) things. For my mouth shall speak truth (uprightness, integrity, justice); and wickedness (fraud, falsehood) is an abomination to my lips. All the words of my mouth are in righteousness (straight, right, just); there is nothing froward (twisted, crafty, deceitful) or perverse (fraudulent) in them. They are all plain (upright, just, obvious) to him that understandeth, and right (just, true) to them that find knowledge.

Monday, 9/15/14  Ps 25:5c ...on thee do I wait all the day. However much you think about God now, however much you serve Him now...find a way to up your performance. NEVER be satisfied: you’re NOT “good enough.”                Ps 23:1-6 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name's sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever1Life includes both positive and negative circumstances. Note: green pastures...still water...rest...shadow of death2Severe negatives don’t indicate an absence from God.  3His presence is assured in the worst of times: look for it.  4v4 We can have a good attitude in bad times. We don’t have to be a bother to everyone else.  5Faith in the future is our buoy.  6v5 Focus on the positives: they’re there.  7v1 It is possible to be content solely in Christ.  8The paths we tread (positive or negative) are for “his sake”.  9v4b God’s direction and correction are to comfort us, not discourage us.  10If the Lord IS our Shepherd, our worst situation can be “running over.”

Tuesday, 9/16/14  John 15:18 If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before it hated you.  We’ve all hidden our feelings at times, and then let them out at times. The world hates us because of our Saviour, so don’t be surprised when they fail to hide it sometimes. Love them as He loves them.               John 18:11 Then said Jesus unto Peter, Put up thy sword into the sheath: the cup which my Father hath given me, shall I not drink it? What cup has the Father given you that you have the option of refusing but which He’d really like you to take?  Soul winning? Teaching a Sunday School class? Going back to school? Serving Him full-time? Taking a stand for holiness at work?

Wednesday, 9/17/14  Ps 27:2 When the wicked, even mine enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled and fell. Have you rehearsed God’s faithfulness in past trials and thereby aided your confidence towards the future?               1 Sam 5:11bc & 6:19 So they sent and gathered together all the lords of the Philistines, and said, Send away the ark of the God of Israel, and let it go again to his own place, that it slay us not, and our people: for there was a deadly destruction throughout the city; and the hand of God was very heavy there.   And he smote the men of Bethshemesh, because they had looked into the ark of the Lord, even he smote of the people [50, 070] men. Just a reminder that the same God Who lovingly gave His only begotten Son killed all of these people. Don’t trifle with Him: obey what He says to do.

Thursday, 9/18/14  Acts 24:14 But this I confess unto thee, that after the way which they call heresy, so worship I the God of my fathers, believing all things which are written in the law and in the prophets. A proper relationship toward God (worship) is impossible apart from the law and the prophets (Bible). He tells us what He wants.            Rev 7:9, 14 After this I beheld, and, lo, a great multitude, which no man could number...These are they which came out of great tribulation... The time is coming where people will get saved because of the threat of the negative more so than the offer of the positive. Don’t be shy about proclaiming the “negative” side of God’s character.

Friday, 9/19/14  Gen 3:12 And the man said, The woman whom thou gavest to be with me, she gave me of the tree, and I did eat. And Lord God said unto the woman, What is this that thou hast done?...the serpent beguiled me, and I did eat. From the very first, our practice has been to blame others for our sins. Don’t do that.             Ps 32:7 Thou art my hiding place; thou shalt preserve me from trouble: thou shalt compass me about with songs of deliverance. Everyone needs a quiet time/place to get away from everything and to get with God. In our society, it’s hard to get away, and many people have been conditioned to the point where silence is terrifying: many feel very insecure without people and without noises.  God get with THE one Person Who can help you most...He still has a “still small voice” so you’ll need it quiet.

Saturday, 9/20/14  After mankind’s sin, God increased the amount of work that each gender had to do so as to keep them out of trouble. (See Gen 3:17-19; Gen 3:16 & 1 Tim 2:15.)  Don’t shrink from or shirk your biggest ally in the Battle for Personal Holiness.             Ps 31:11 I was a reproach among all mine enemies, but especially among my neighbors, and a fear to mine acquaintance: they that did see me without fled from me. If everyone around you is critical and unsupportive, you need to get around other people...you have a duty to take care of yourself. Get a new crowd of friends...even if it means walking alone for awhile.  BTW, be sure that you're not part of the negative crowd and that your is not just "birds of a feather flocking together."
Thoughts from some others
John 6:67 Then said Jesus unto the 12, Will ye also go away? What a sad question, but one He asks of each of us every day we live. We need to constantly remind ourselves to walk close to Him and never take Him for granted.
Pro 19:11 The discretion of a man deferreth his anger, and it is his glory to pass over a transgression. Here’s the formula for avoiding conflict, arguments, and trouble. Think before speaking, and appreciate a man’s good and overlook his faults.
Ps 137:8 O daughter of Babylon, who art to be destroyed: happy shall he be that rewardeth thee as thou hast served us. We’d better wake up as a nation, and see what happens to those who persecute and who fail to protect Israel and God’s people. It may not be popular or politically correct, but it’s safe, and God takes notice.
Pro 16:3 Commit thy works unto the Lord and thy thoughts shall be established. If we’ll do right, we’ll think right.
John 6:18 And the sea arose by reason of the great wind that blew... Storms of life and winds of adversity blow so we can see Jesus and He can reveal Himself to us. We need to look for Him in every area of life and not miss Him.
Pro 14 Go from the presence of a foolish man, when thou perceivest not in him the lips of knowledge. Proverbs is very clear on whom we should run with and how to treat and recognize a fool. Listen to his talk and act accordingly.
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Contact me at baptistcity@gmail.com for information on subscribing to the weekly email or daily text messages from Terry.