Bible Thoughts by Terry Hedderman

Tuesday, 11/1/16  Ps 119:67-68a, Before I was afflicted... Thou art good, and doest good. Can you, in the midst of affliction, still count God as being good? Can you partake of the unique solace to which we often refer others who are hurting?       
                 1 Kings 22:14, And Micaiah said, As the Lord liveth, what the Lord saith unto me, that will I speak. Someone recently accused me of posting a Bible thought that was “directed at” a certain person. I did not do that. I have been posting daily thoughts here or sending out a daily text for almost 7 straight years, and I have never “aimed” at anyone, though I have known a few times that a certain thought might poke someone, or will apply directly to them. When I started sending and posting my thoughts, my primary criteria was that if I would make a note in my Bible, then I would post/text it. In other words, if a passage spoke to me along a certain line, then maybe others could benefit also. If something helped or encouraged or rebuked me, perhaps it would enlighten others similarly. It is an honor that others wish to see what I have seen, and you may rest assured, that if a certain passage addresses a certain sin, that I have had to do business with God over that issue before I brought it to this public venue.
 
Wednesday, 11/2/16  Ps 119:75-76, I know, O Lord...that thou in faithfulness hast afflicted me. Let, I pray thee, thy merciful kindness be for my comfort... In times of affliction, we must, on purpose, be extra aware of His merciful kindness for comfort so as to counterbalance the bad.             Rom 13:13, Let us walk honestly, as in the day; not in rioting and drunkenness, not in chambering and wantonness, not in strife and envying. Definitions:  “honestly”: decently, suitably, appropriately.  “Rioting”: drunken partying; carousing.  “Drunkenness”: drinking, intoxicant (that which causes the rioting).  “Chambering”: cohabitation, i.e. fornication.  “Wantonness”: Untrained, unrestrained, especially in terms of purity and discipline. “Strife”: Arguing, debating.  “Envying”: Jealousy, indignation. Inserting the definitions into the verse:  “Let us walk appropriately, as in the day; not in wild drunken partying, not in fornication and loose morality, not in arguing and jealousy.” Is your thought life, your DVD life, your private life, more of a “daytime life” or more toward “night time” living?
 
Thursday, 11/3/16  Job 2:10b, What? Shall we receive good at the hand of God, and shall we not receive evil? In all this did not Job sin with his lips. If we’re receiving evil, 1It’s still from a loving, merciful God: He approved it.  2It has a purpose, and therefore,  3It’s not really bad, but is good.               Eph 5:15, See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise. “Circum” means around; 360o. “Spect” means to look. (In-spect, retro-spect, re-spect [look again]) So the verse is telling us to keep our eyes roving while we walk: like a soldier on patrol in enemy territory. Bro. Hyles said that no one ever became a casualty in the Christian life who didn’t first become casual.
 
Friday, 11/4/16  Many who read these posts would say this: “I want to be like Christ.”  Oh, really? John 1:11, [Jesus] came unto his own, and his own [hated, tortured, and killed Him.] Are you willing to put your heart out there and allow it to be stomped into the dirt and still love those doing the stomping?              Job 2:10b, What? Shall we not receive good at the hand of God, and shall we not receive evil? In all this did not Job sin with his lips. We WILL be given both good and evil. All sunshine produces a desert. A diet consisting of all cookies and ice cream will result in an unhealthy body.
 
Saturday, 11/5/16  Ps 119:97, O how love I thy law! It is my meditation all the day. Devise a way for you to do this verse. Set an alarm on your phone to remind yourself to re-read and consider these daily texts or other nuggets of truth.              Mark 1:22, And they were astonished at his doctrine: for he taught them as one that had authority, and not as the scribes. How you say truth will affect how people respond to it. Do you relate truth like it’s a fable? Actors relate fables like they’re truth and win awards for doing so.
 
Sunday, 11/6/16  2 Cor 5:2, For in this we groan, earnestly desiring to be clothed upon with our house which is from heaven. All of Creation groans for Christ’s return (Rom 8.) When was the last time that you really thought of, and longed for that?                    Does life have you down? Do you feel like you’re dying? Re-connect with the Life. Ps 119:88, Quicken me (make me alive) after thy lovingkindness; so shall I keep the testimony of thy mouth. And while you’re at it, see how you can obey more, because it’s your sin that is killing you. Sin doesn’t just result in eternal death for the unsaved, it kills things in the heart and life of the saved.
 
Monday, 11/7/16  Zech 1:3, Therefore say thou unto them, Thus saith the Lord of hosts; Turn ye unto me, saith the Lord of hosts, and I will turn unto you, saith the Lord of hosts. If you’re not as close to God as you used to be, it’s not Him that has moved.             1 Kings 11:9, And the Lord was angry with Solomon, because his heart was turned from the Lord God of Israel, which had appeared unto him twice. God does get angry over the action of His kids. It’s possible to be loved unconditionally, to be “accepted in the beloved” and still incur His anger. Parents, spouses, teachers, bosses: if anger is needed, be VERY sure to convey that it is aimed toward the person’s actions and not toward the person. Use the old “sandwich method” from Revelation 2 & 3: compliment, then rebuke, and then compliment again.
 
 
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Bible thoughts from some others:
- Pro 1:14, Cast in thy lot among us: let us all have one purse. We need to be very careful of our associations, alliances, and treaties, under the guise of business and economics.
 
- Pro 2:22, But the wicked shall be cut off from the earth, and the transgressors shall be rooted out of itI. If we have ever needed to have this happen, it in in our nation today.
 
- Acts 8:29, Then the Spirit said unto Philip, Go near, and join thyself to this chariot. God still prefers one on one personal soul winning, but most Baptists have forgotten how to do it!
 
- Pro 23:4, Yea though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me: thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. The child of God need not fear, nor fret about death. We have the assurance that He is with us, will protect, and will comfort us.
 
- Acts 10:40, Him God raised up the third day, and shewed him openly. The difference between all other religions and Christianity is a living, risen Saviour.
 
- Acts 11:21, And the hand of the Lord was with them: and a great number believed and turned unto the Lord. The test for the hand of the Lord and the Holy Ghost’s presence is the conversion of sinners! You can’t hide it.
 
- Ps 27:11, Teach me thy way, O Lord, and lead me in a plain path because of mine enemies. Enemies of Jesus Christ are my enemies, and I need His direction when dealing with them.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Miscellaneous thoughts from others:
- Hard work never killed anyone, but stress does.
- Pain is inevitable; suffering is optional.
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Contact me at baptistcity@gmail.com for information on subscribing to the weekly email or daily text messages from Terry.