Bible Thoughts by Terry Hedderman

- Tuesday, 11/3/20  Luke 8:14, And that which fell among thorns are they, which, when they have heard, go forth, and are choked with cares and riches and pleasures of this life, and bring no fruit to perfection. Every farmer/gardener knows

they MUST stay on top of the weeds. So too must we watch for baby thorns springing up in our lives...they’re very prolific. Examine your field today.                            Psalm 55:6, And I said, Oh that I had wings like a dove! for then would I fly away, and be at rest. One of the greatest Christians who ever lived wanted to run from his problems. So, if you’re in that same boat...you’re not horrible; pain is...painful, and unpleasant. Just stay put like David did. Trust God; put a smile on your face and go serve someone else. God’s got you, just like He had him.

- Wednesday, 11/4/20  Psalm 119:101, I have refrained my feet from every evil way, that I might keep thy word. Are we supposed to stop the bad so as to do the good, or, are we to do the good so as to stop the bad? Yes. Fight to eliminate the wrong while replacing the wrong deeds with good actions.                             Proverbs 31:11, The heart of her husband doth safely trust in her, so that he shall have no need of spoil. Ladies, the very first characteristic of a virtuous woman is that she has earned and kept the trust of her man. Does your husband trust you? Can he trust you financially? (Are you thrifty or frivolous?) Does he trust you emotionally? (Does he open his heart and share his fears, dreams, successes, and failures with you?) Does he trust you spiritually? (Can he count on your encouragement, prayer, and yes, a loving rebuke when he’s backsliding?) Can he trust you physically? (Are you taking care of yourself so as to be around for a long, long time? Can he trust you to be the proper outlet for his physical needs, or is he tempted to look elsewhere?)

- Thursday, 11/5/20  Psalm 56:3, What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee. It is during negative times when we grow the most. Though they are painful, scary, unpleasant, and discouraging, problems that force us to look at our sins, that force us to change, that take us outside our comfort zones are truly blessings.                          Psalm 139:1-2, O Lord, thou hast searched me, and known me. Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off. God knows where you’re at; do you know where God is? He’s at church, with the hurting, in His Book, in your prayer closet, seeking and trying to save the lost...go meet Him.

- Friday, 11/6/20  You may know God, but Heaven or Hell is determined by whether He knows you.  Matthew 7:23, And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity. You can fool everyone...except Him. Are you sure you’re saved?                          Psalm 57:1, Be merciful unto me, O God, be merciful unto me: for my soul trusteth in thee: yea, in the shadow of thy wings will I make my refuge, until these calamities be overpast. Reread it and notice/emphasize the word “until.” However dark the night; however violent the storm...it WILL pass. And even if the storm gives way to the winter season (a new “bad” normal), there will be some better days: maybe cold, but clear and sunny. Maybe your winter will last until an eternal Spring, but God is aware of you and is on the job: just do right, trust, serve others, keep on thanking and praising. The sun WILL rise tomorrow, so keep on putting one foot in front of the other until the next step is on a cloud. ...yea, in the shadow of thy wings will I make my refuge, UNTIL these calamities be overpast.

- Saturday, 11/7/20  Psalm 119:133a, Order my steps in thy word. Order means to direct. For God to do this for us, we must 1want it, 2must listen to Him, and 3we must listen repeatedly as we take another step. He’ll give step-by-step instructions if we’ll give step-by-step attention. Lord help me.                          Psalm 57:4, My soul is among lions: and I lie even among them that are set on fire, even the sons of men, whose teeth are spears and arrows, and their tongue a sharp sword. Does this describe your speech at times? (I’m guilty.) Are you ravenous like a lion? Notice, these are characteristics of the “sons of men,” which means the natural man, the unsaved man, our old nature.

- Sunday, 11/8/20  Psalm 59:9, Because of his strength will I wait upon thee: for God is my defence. It’s common sense, but when the enemy flexes his muscles, we need to up our game too. Don’t wilt with discouragement; consume more Bible; add more prayer time; go soul winning again; give more.                                Nehemiah 8:9, And Nehemiah...and Ezra the priest...said unto all the people, This day is holy unto the Lord your God; mourn not, nor weep. For all the people wept, when they heard the words of the law.  Maybe a good verse by which to measure ourselves: how long has it been since we wept because of what the Bible said? (Either tears of conviction and repentance, or tears of joy?)

- Monday, 11/9/20  Psalm 61:1, From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I. Notice the psalmist said he also was a rock. Yes, we should look to the Lord, but there are those who’re weaker: they look to us. Stay strong my friend.                                Matthew 6:2, Therefore when thou doest thine alms, do not sound a trumpet before thee, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets, THAT they may have glory of men. (Said 3x: about alms, fasting, & prayer.) Verily I say unto you, They have their reward. Only we can know our motives, but since our heart is highly deceitful, we can’t even trust our interpretation. Ask God what your motives are.






-----------------------------------------------------------------
Contact me at baptistcity@gmail.com for information on subscribing to the weekly email or daily text messages from Terry.