Bible Thoughts by Terry Hedderman

- Tuesday, 11/26/19  Hebrews 10:25, Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is...and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching. (For your eyes and heart only, a blunt question.) Is your prevailing Christian life’s philosophy to do as little as you HAVE to do, or as much as you COULD do?  

                      Matthew 16:14-15, And they said, Some say that thou art John the Baptist: some, Elias; and others, Jeremias, or one of the prophets. He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am? It matters not Whom others say Jesus is: Whom is He to you? An historical figure? A religious icon? God in the flesh? The only One Whom can save your soul? (The Bible way of salvation is Him alone: period. NOT Him plus a certain church, or plus baptism, or plus sincerity.)  Also, it matters not how much or how little another loves Him. How much do you and I love Him?

 

- Wednesday, 11/27/19  James 2:18, Yea, a man may say, Thou hast faith, and I have works: shew me thy faith without thy works, and I will shew thee my faith by my works. A private question for each of us to ponder, “How can you say you believe when you don’t act like you do?”                                  Acts 19:15, And the evil spirit answered and said, Jesus I know, and Paul I know; but who are ye? Does anyone in Hell know your name? Or, who in Hell knows you?

 

- Thursday, 11/28/19  Be forewarned: this will be brutally blunt: Proverbs 21:5, The thoughts of the diligent tend only to plenteousness; but of every one that is hasty only to want. Not being an optimist shows a lack of diligence. Read the verse again. Are you optimistic or pessimistic?                            Proverbs 12:4, A virtuous woman is a crown to her husband: but she that maketh ashamed is as rottenness in his bones. A man cannot control how his woman treats him, but we can control, as least to a large degree, how we react. God says feeling shamed is detrimental to health. Forgive, pray for her, love her even if you and the whole world feels she’s done wrongly.

 

- Friday, 11/29/19  Psalm 18:2, The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength. He said God WAS these things, not “I believe He is.” Such definite statements indicates trials and problems. Be thankful for the negatives. There is no deliverance where none is needed.                           Psalm 119:23, Princes also did sit and speak against me: but thy servant did meditate in thy statutes. It hurts to be the topic of gossip, and maybe those pained feelings are unavoidable, but we CAN control our subsequent reaction. Control what you can control...control your brain (& your prayer life. Jesus forgave and prayed for those that hurt Him... ‘just sayin’.)

 

- Saturday, 11/30/19  Psalm 18:6a, In my distress I called upon the Lord, and cried unto my God. It’s a sad truth, but we often don’t pray unless we NEED to. So...is the calamity that drives us to our knees truly a bad thing? Truth is, we have no clue what is good and what is bad.                                 Isaiah 40:31a, But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength. Waiting here means to watch and serve like a waiter in a restaurant. If we will do as the Lord wishes (He has no hands but our hands; no feet but our feet, no tongue but our tongue), He promises to automatically recharge our batteries. Most Christians don’t need more rest; they need to work more for the Lord; they need to quit resting and start waiting.

 

- Sunday, 12/1/19  Psalm 18:21, For I have kept the ways of the Lord, and have not wickedly departed from my God. We often try to whitewash and sugar-coat our transgressions, but make no mistake: any step off of the “straight and narrow” is a dirty, rotten, rebellious step of WICKEDNESS. Let’s get some things right today. Let’s come home from church cleaner, more holy, more surrendered than we are right now.                           Acts 22:18-19a, And saw [God] saying unto me, Make haste, and get thee quickly out of Jerusalem: for they will not receive thy testimony concerning me. And I said, Lord... Even this superstar Christian argued with God. So we shouldn’t be so alarmed when we do it too. However, it was as much wrong for him to disobey clear statements from God as it is for us. Statements concerning alcohol use, fornication, obedience to authorities, submission to husbands, modesty, purity, soul winning, honoring of parents, hard work... We all need revival. You do; I do. Let’s have it.

 

- Monday, 12/2/19  Psalm 59:16a, But I will sing of thy power; yea, I will sing aloud of thy mercy in the morning. A challenge: how could you implement this? What reminders/prompts could you put into your “getting ready for work” procedure to remind yourself to sing to and about God? Please share your ideas.                             1 Samuel 16:18, Then answered one of the servants, and said, Behold, I have seen a son of Jesse the Bethlehemite, that is cunning in playing, and a mighty valiant man, and a man of war, and prudent in matters, and a comely person, and the Lord is with him. Whatever other good phrases that could be used to describe you to another, could it be TRUTHFULLY said that the Lord is OBVIOUSLY with you? If’s He is, nothing else matters; if He isn’t, nothing else matters.

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Contact me at baptistcity@gmail.com for information on subscribing to the weekly email or daily text messages from Terry.