Defiling a Nation

Leviticus 18:24

"Defile not ye yourselves in any of these things: for in all these the nations are defiled which I cast out before you:"

When I travel, one of the things I do when I'm sitting in the airplane is to give the person next to me a tract and talk to them about the LORD. I understand that the LORD put them next to me for a purpose, so I don't want to waste God's purpose in my life.

I was flying back home from a meeting, and the LORD allowed me to sit next to a lady who was a public school teacher. As is my custom, I handed her a tract and told her there was a message on the back that could tell her how to go to Heaven. I then asked her if she knew she was going to Heaven, which she replied affirmatively that she knew.

After asking her the all-important question about her salvation, I told her that if she ever had any Scriptural questions she would like answered that she could email me. Immediately she told me she had one. She asked me if homosexuality was a sin, to which I replied that it was. She then asked me about people who were born with an extra gene that made them that way. I responded to her that God only made male and female, and nothing else. She then asked me about people who tended to lean that way. I finally responded to her that I was against sodomy just like I'm against adultery and fornication. I told her that intimacy outside the boundaries of marriage in any fashion is sin.

That is exactly what God says in the verse above. He warns Israel not to defile themselves with the things that the nations who inhabited the lands before them did. When you look at the previous verses, you see that God shows what defiled these nations and caused Him to destroy them. There is the sin of adultery, to which God goes into detail of different manners in which a person may commit it. The sin of sodomy and being intimate with a family member is included in this list, as well as hiring someone to have intimacy. All of these sins are the sins that defile a nation.

Friend, I point this out because as a Christian you should make sure that you don't contribute to what defiles your nation. Just because a person is saved does not mean they won't commit these sins. Being saved is not a license to commit these sins. God does not give His grace so you can commit these sins. God says that He will destroy a nation who allows these sins.

Let me ask you, are you contributing to your nations demise by committing any of these sins? No one may know about it but you and the other person, but God knows and understands your actions are contributing to your nations demise. Yes, God will judge you personally for this sin, but if you commit these sins you are adding to the case for God to destroy your nation.

Let me take this one step further and ask you if you are contributing to these sins by watching them on television? Just because you are not personally committing the sin does not give you a right to watch it on television or the internet. It is as wrong to watch it as it is to commit it.

My challenge to you is to be sure your life is clean from these sins. Don't allow such sins to be watched on the television, and keep yourself from committing them. Always remember that by staying away from such sins you will help preserve your nation from being judged by God.