Details

Click here to read the Old Paths Journal.

Details

 

Ezekiel 40:5

"And behold a wall on the outside of the house round about, and in the man's hand a measuring reed of six cubits long by the cubit and an hand breadth: so he measured the breadth of the building, one reed; and the height, one reed."

One of the greatest mistakes that I see in churches and people is how they treat the details. When you read the verse above, you see that God is One Who believes in details.  God showed Ezekiel the details of the future temple. You will notice when you read this chapter that God didn't just tell Ezekiel about the temple, but He went into detail about everything in the temple.  When you study the character of God, you will find that He always gives attention to details.  

Your success in life, and every pursuit in which you endeavor, will be determined by how well you give attention to details.  When I was a boy, my mother used to always make sure that I took care of the details.  When I cleaned my room, she went in after me to make sure that I did a good job.  She lifted items off of the dresser to make sure that I picked them up when I dusted.  She checked the top of pictures to be sure I dusted there. Though at the time I thought it was ridiculous, my mother was teaching me to take care of the details. She understood that my future would be affected by how well I gave attention to the details.  

When I preach in churches, probably one of the greatest mistakes I see preachers make is that they don't give attention to the details. I have seen men who have great personality and talent, but don't pay attention to detail and hurt the growth of their church. Any pastor or Sunday school teacher who avoids taking care of the details will struggle in the growth of their class or church.  

Businessmen who don't take care of the details will find their businesses struggling. Many businessmen have gone out of business because they didn't think that the details were that important, only to find that the unheeded details destroyed their business.  

Finances are made or broken by how well someone takes care of the details.  When you think a penny is not that important in your finances, that is when you will find yourself losing money. Every penny and dime is important to your financial success.  

Likewise, your future will be determined by how well you take care of the details. Your life is filled with details that are important to your success. When a Christian disregards the details of the Christian life, he will end up hurting his walk with God.  You must not overlook and disregard the details in life.  If you will treat every detail in life as important, then the one detail that propels you to success will be treated importantly, thus success will be experienced.  

If God believes that every detail is important, then you need to become a person of detail. Don't fall trap to disregarding the details. The best way to make sure that you become a person of detail is to treat everything with importance.  Schedule your life and plan every detail of your pursuits. By doing this you will have a better chance of treating each detail with importance.