Dreamer

Click here to read the Old Paths Journal.

The Dreamer

 

Genesis 37:5

"And Joseph dreamed a dream, and he told it his brethren: and they hated him yet the more."

One of the great attributes about Joseph was that he was a dreamer.  As a young man he had dreams for the future. When you compare Joseph to his brethren, you will see that he had more initiative than they.  Maybe the reason Joseph's brothers did not like him was because he made them feel guilty about their lack of dreams.  Though Joseph's brothers did not like his dreams, it was his dreams that drove him through the hardships of life, and because he never gave up, he eventually experienced his dreams.

Everybody should have a dream.  One of the reasons I am concerned for this present generation is because of its lack of dreams.  When you ask the average person what they want to do in the future, most have no dreams to talk about.  If you have no dreams, then you will go nowhere. It is imperative that you start getting some dreams in your life.  It is imperative that you get a dream to drive you.  If you have no dream, then you will have nothing to drive you through the hardships of life.

When you do have dreams, it is important that you understand that everybody won't be excited about your dreams.  When Joseph told his brethren his dreams, they were jealous and outright hateful.  You must realize that your dream is exactly that, your dream.  Because it is your dream, and because your dream affects your life, most people will not be excited about your dreams for your life.

Furthermore, be careful to whom you choose to tell your dreams. Joseph told his dreams to his brethren only to experience their hatred.  When you have a dream, only tell your dreams to those who you know really want you to excel in life.  I have found that most of the time it is better to keep my dreams to myself.  Most people won't be as excited about my dreams as I am, therefore I must learn to keep them private until they come to fruition.

Moreover, don't let hardships dampen your dream.  Between the dream and the dream coming to reality, you will find hardships will try to kill your dream.  Don't let your hardships be a dream killer.  Instead, let your dreams be the motivating factor that drive you through your hardships.

Lastly, keep working towards your dream until it happens.  I have often said that I am living the dreams of my youth.  When I was a youth I dreamed about doing what I am doing now.  No matter what came my way, I continued to work towards my dream.  Christian, whatever you do, work towards your dream until it happens.

It is important that everyone becomes a dreamer.  Every successful person is a person who dreamed. Success doesn't happen by accident, it happens because someone had a dream.  Get a dream for yourself.  Make sure your dream is something that would make God happy, and then work towards making that dream reality.