Early

Early Will I Seek Thee

Psalm 63:1

"O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is;"

There is something about being early with everything that gives you a fresh outlook and excitement for whatever you do. When I was a boy, my parents taught me to do things early. They taught me when I had chores to do that I should do them early. They taught me that I should arrive early for appointments and church. They taught me that I should read the Scriptures early every day. When you do things early, you have a better chance of not setting them aside until it's too late or until it slips your mind.

The Psalmist said, "...early will I seek thee:..." He realized that God was worthy of being sought. When there are other endeavors and people whom he could have sought, he chose to seek God. Though seeking others may not have been bad, he realized that seeking God was the best. However, he didn't just wait to seek God after he sought everything and everyone else, he sought Him early. He knew that God deserved to be the One Who was sought first before anyone or anything else. Let me show you several times when you ought to seek God early.

First, seek God early in life. Young person, the best time to start seeking God is at a young age. Many people waste years of their lives seeking things that will not bring satisfaction when they could have used the early years of their life to seek God. The early years of your life are not filled with clutter from the world. Setting a pattern early in life to seek God will establish that pattern for the rest of your life.

Second, seek God early in the day. For many years I have been an early riser. I must confess, I was not always an early riser. I must say that I was never one to sleep in until late in the morning, but getting up early was not of great importance. It became of great importance when I realized that God's desire was for me to seek Him early in the day. Likewise, I believe you should wake up earlier so you can seek Him. You will find that the Word of God will have a greater opportunity to feed you if you seek Him early.

Third, seek God early in endeavors. Before you start any project, stop and take time to seek for God's help. Don't wait until you've tried everything else to seek God, instead before you start be sure to seek Him. Seek God before you go into business. Seek God before you start your work day. Seek God before the biggest and smallest task. Make God your first stop before you step out in any endeavor.

Fourth, seek God early in relationships. Young married couples need to be sure to seek God early in their relationship. When a child is born, the parents need to seek God for help at that child's young age. No matter what the relationship may be that you are starting, seeking God early in that relationship will establish it on the right foundation.

Finally, seek God early in troubles. Whether the troubles are something of your own doing, or maybe they are trials that have come your way, be sure to seek God early on. Don't wait until the troubles have overwhelmed you because you tried to work them out yourself, but when they first come start seeking God. He alone has the wisdom to help you through your troubles.

Christian, make your pattern of life one that always seeks God before you do anything. Seeking God early will allow you to see Him work early on in whatever you are doing. If you seek God early, then you will get Him involved earlier, which will allow you to see success more quickly in that endeavor.