Holding God's Hand

Isaiah 42:6

"I the LORD have called thee in righteousness, and will hold thine hand, and will keep thee, and give thee for a covenant of the people, for a light of the Gentiles;"

What an endearing statement this verse makes when it says, "I the LORD...will hold thine hand."

This should show the closeness that God has for every Christian. When I think of holding someone's hand, I think of holding the hand of my wife and daughter. I do this because I am close to them and love them. When I think of God holding our hand there are a couple of thoughts that come to mind.

First, God holds our hand because He loves us. Just like a husband and wife or a parent and child hold hands because they love each other, likewise God holds our hand because He loves us. Christian, it doesn't matter what you have done, God still loves you. When my daughter has done wrong and I've had to correct her, I would not stop holding her hand. No, in fact I would hold her hand to assure her of my love. Knowing that God loves us enough to hold our hand should comfort and encourage you no matter what you have done in life.

Second, holding one's hand shows that you are not afraid to be associated with them. Oftentimes my wife and I hold hands in public, and one of the reasons we hold hands is because we want to show everyone that we are together. You wouldn't hold the hand of a complete stranger. Likewise, you wouldn't hold the hand of someone with whom you would not want to identify. You hold the hand of someone to show you are not ashamed to be known that you are with them. Get this, God is not afraid to show that He is with you. When nobody else wants to be with you, God holds your hand to show everyone that He is with you. When everyone else is ashamed of you and wants nothing to do with you, God will hold your hand to show He loves you and identifies with you.

Third, God holds our hand to assure us we are safe in times of insecurity. When my daughter is a bit scared, she will immediately reach for my hand to be assured everything is fine. By holding my hand she can feel that I am not shaking or scared. She feels the steadiness of my hand, and that gives her assurance during the times of insecurity. I love this because when you are scared, God will hold your hand. When you're scared of the visit to the doctor, God will hold your hand. When you're scared to hear what the lawyer will say to you, God will hold your hand. When you're scared to face the accusers, God will hold your hand. When you're scared to face the bill collectors, God will hold your hand. When your scared to walk through the shadow of death, God will hold your hand. No matter what you are afraid of, if you will look beyond the fear you will feel there is a hand in yours, and that hand is the hand of God.

Fourth, God holds our hand to protect us from danger. It is common that a parent will hold the hand of their child when they are walking through danger to keep the child from hurting themselves. That is what God says He does for us. He holds our hand to "keep" us in times of danger. No matter what danger you face, God will hold your hand to guide you in the threat of danger.

Fifth, God holds our hand to guide us through life. God wants to guide us to the promises He has for us. Friend, if you will just yield to the guiding hand of God, you will find that He will lead you to places of blessings.

Aren't you glad that God holds your hand? Right now take some time and thank God that He is willing to hold your hand. Let me also encourage you never to run from the hand of God. The same hand that is there to do all the things mentioned above is also there to punish you if you run from Him. Let God's hand be endearing in your relationship with Him.