Open Wide

Psalm 81:10

"I am the LORD thy God, which brought thee out of the land of Egypt: open thy mouth wide, and I will fill it."

Every once in awhile when my wife is doing some baking I'll ask her what she is cooking, and she says, "It's a surprise." She will then come over to me and tell me, "Close you eyes and open wide." As I open my mouth a spoon of tasty dessert  is put into my mouth. Boy, am I glad that I opened wide.

That is what God is saying in the verse above. He tells the Christian, "...open thy mouth wide, and I will fill it." God wants to fill your mouth with His blessings that He has prepared for you. In this verse there are several things we can learn.

First, you must trust God that He has something good for you. When my wife asked me to close my eyes so she could put something into my mouth, the act of closing my eyes says that I trust her. You have every reason to trust God. God will never put anything into your mouth that will not be helpful to you in the long run. Certainly, we don't know what God has for us, but we must realize God has something good for us if we will just open wide.

Second, God has thought about us to prepare something for us. It is especially encouraging to me to know that God would think about us to put something into our open mouth. Before my wife ever put a spoon of sweets into my mouth, she took the time to think about trying to please me with a special dessert. You should feel very special that God has prepared something special just for you. Of all the people in this world that God could have something to give, He has prepared something for you if you will simply open wide your mouth.

The degree of God's blessings on your life depends upon how wide you open your mouth. When my wife comes to me and tells me to open up, if I barely open my mouth then I will only get a small spoonful of the dessert she has on that spoon. Christian, God didn't say to just open your mouth, but He says to open it wide. That means God has something He wants to fill your mouth with if you will simply open your mouth wide. Don't limit God's blessings by barely opening your mouth. Open your mouth wide and God says He will fill it.

This verse has been one of the promises I often go to when I need something from God. Christian, God promised to fill your mouth if you will open it wide. My question to you is this, how wide have you opened your mouth? How big is your vision? Better yet, how big is your God? The degree to which you open your mouth will answer these questions.

I challenge you to open your mouth wide and let God fill your life with His blessings. When it comes to your ministry, think big and ask God to fill your mouth with His blessings. With your life, open your mouth wide and have great visions for God to do something through you. Don't limit God because of your unbelief. Don't limit God because you don't feel worthy. God knew exactly who you were and what you've done when He challenged you to open your mouth wide. Pick up your dusty visions from the past and open your mouth wide and ask God to fill them for His glory.