The Key

Click here to read the Old Paths Journal.

The Key to Psalm 23

 

Psalm 23:4

"Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me."

No doubt, one of the most read psalms in the Scriptures is Psalm 23. Often by the bedside of one who is facing death, a pastor will read Psalm 23.  Many times when someone faces a serious surgery, their pastor will read Psalm 23.  Psalm 23 is regularly read at a funeral or grave side services.  It is often read because of the comfort it gives to those facing rough times.

We are reminded that God owns us when the Scriptures say, "The LORD is my shepherd..." We are also reminded that He is our provider in verse 1.  We are reminded that He is our peace in verse 2.  We are reminded that He guides us in verse 3.  We are reminded that He comforts us in verse 4.  We are reminded that He is our protecter in verse 5.  Again in verse 5, we are reminded that He is our power.  We are also reminded that He is good and merciful to us in verse 6.  The psalmist truly gives us a great list of what God is to us.

Yet, the key to this psalm is often missed.  Many times you would think that David was going through a good time when He wrote this, but that is not the case.  The key to this psalm is in verse 4 when the Scriptures say, "Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death..." It is interesting that David said all of these things about God when death's shadow was over him.  In other words, David was not going through the greatest time of His life, and yet he said all of these great things about God.

Let me paraphrase these verses a bit.  He was saying, though I face death God still owns me.  Though I face death, God is still providing for me.  Though I face death, God is giving me peace.  Though I face death, God is guiding me.  Though I face death, God is still comforting.  Though I face death, God is protecting me.  Though I face death, God will give me power.  Though I face death, God is still good and merciful.  David was saying all of these good things about God when he was going through a rough spot in his life.

Christian, the true test of your Christianity will be how you respond when going through rough times in your life.  It is easy to say good things about God when times are good, but let me remind you that the God of the good times is still God when bad times come. You must not forget that even if the "shadow of death" hovers over you, that God will provide, give you peace, guide you, comfort you, protect you, give you power to face the uncertain and He will be merciful and good to you.

The key to Psalm 23 is that David still responded right when times were tough.  The key to your life will be how you respond through your tough times.  Always remember that God is there for you in the bad times just like He is in the good times.