The LORD's Calling

1 Samuel 3:3-4

"And ere the lamp of God went out in the temple of the LORD, where the ark of God was, and Samuel was laid down to sleep; That the LORD called Samuel: and he answered, Here am I."

Do you remember the first time the LORD spoke to your heart?

I remember the first time He spoke to me was when I was a young boy living in South Carolina. This was the night that I accepted Jesus Christ as my personal Saviour. I would imagine that most people will recall the first time the LORD spoke to their heart was when He convicted them of their need of salvation.

Yet, the LORD's calling to Samuel was different. The Scriptures teach that Samuel had not known the voice of the LORD. In other words, this was the first time the LORD spoke to this young man. What is interesting is that the LORD's calling on Samuel's life was to tell him what God was going to do with his life. As I look at the LORD's calling on Samuel's life, I find several observations and thoughts.

First, the LORD's calling is early. Some would say the LORD spoke to Samuel late at night, but I tend to believe the the LORD spoke to him early in the morning. Let me point out that the LORD's calling came early in Samuel's life. You will always find that the LORD speaks early. The LORD will speak early in the life of a child. This is why you should never question a child about the LORD's calling. Furthermore, the LORD's calling comes early in the morning. You will miss most of what the LORD wants to say to you if you don't spend time with Him early in the morning.

Second the LORD's calling is consistent. It's interesting that the LORD continued to call Samuel. Likewise, the LORD will speak to you consistently every day if you will set a time aside in the morning for Him to speak. I have a set time every morning when I purposely open my heart and ears for the LORD to speak to me. You need to have a time every morning for the LORD to speak to you.

Third, the LORD's calling doesn't change. God still speaks through His Word. It was through the Word of God that Samuel heard the voice of the LORD, and it will be through the Word of God that you hear God's voice. If you don't read the Word of God, you won't hear God's voice. If you don't listen to It being preached, then you won't hear God's voice.

Let me ask you some questions. Are you listening? If God spoke to you, would your ears be listening for the LORD. Nobody in Samuel's day could hear because they weren't listening.

Are you available? While others are busy sleeping and doing their own thing, God's call will only be heard by those who are available. If you don't hear God's voice, then you must ask yourself if you're available for Him to speak to you.

Finally, is your heart tender to the voice of the LORD? Maybe the reason God spoke to Samuel is because He knew Samuel had a tender heart. Why should God speak to those whom He knows won't listen if they heard? If you want God to speak to you, then you must have a tender heart that will say to God, "Speak; for thy servant heareth." God is calling you every morning. Are you hearing His voice?