Thorns

Dealing with Your Thorn in the Flesh

2 Corinthians 12:7

"And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure."

Nearly every morning when I am done studying the Word of God, I take a walk to meditate on what God gave me. One morning I started walking, and every time I would took a step I felt a sharp prick on my heel. At first I tried to adjust the sock a bit hoping that whatever it was would move, but I was not successful. Finally, the prick became so irritating that I stopped and took my shoe off to find out what was poking my heel. In my sock was a small thorn that protruded out just enough to poke me every time I put my foot down. Removing the thorn in my sock made the walk much more enjoyable.

Sadly, when you have a thorn in the flesh you can't stop and remove the thorn. The Apostle Paul had a thorn in the flesh, and he asked God three times to remove it. All three times God refused to grant Paul's request. Instead of griping about his thorn in the flesh, he accepted it and used it to help him serve God.

If you are going to do anything for God, you will have to eventually deal with a thorn in the flesh. It would be great if you could stop like I did that morning and remove the thorn, but most likely you will have to deal with it for the rest of your life. If you deal with your thorn in the flesh in a proper way, then God can use it to further the ministry that He has given to you. Let me give you some suggestions on how to deal with your thorn in the flesh.

First, accept it! Paul had to come to grips that his thorn in the flesh was not going to be removed. You are limiting what God can do through you as long as you complain and gripe about your thorn in the flesh. As uncomfortable as your thorn may be, you must come to grips that you will have to live with it for the rest of your life. Once you accept your thorn in the flesh, then you are one step closer to God using it to further your ministry in a greater way.

Second, allow your thorn in the flesh to remove your pride. Paul quickly learned that the thorn in the flesh was there to help him stay humble. Any person who has a thorn in the flesh understands that it is a humbling thing. You can either let your thorn in the flesh cause you to get bitter, or you can allow it to take your pride away so God can use you in a greater way.

Third, use your thorn in the flesh to give God glory. Paul used his thorn in the flesh as a tool to show the strength of God in his weakness. One of the reasons God gives you a thorn in the flesh is to show His strength to you. Don't hide your thorn in the flesh. It is there so that God receives the glory. Be sure to give God the glory for the strength He has given you to go on in spite of your thorn in the flesh.

Finally, use your thorn in the flesh as a tool to help others. I have found that God gave me a thorn in the flesh so that I could better help others. Without it I would have missed the opportunity to help many people. Likewise, God gives you a thorn in the flesh as a tool to help others who must deal with the same thorn. Don't keep the tool of your thorn in the flesh in your spiritual toolbox, but take it out and use it.

Your thorn in the flesh can be a blessing to your life if you will accept it. Stop griping about it, and realize that God's grace is sufficient to help you endure it. God would not have given it to you if He knew you could not bear it; therefore, take your thorn in the flesh and realize that God has already given you the strength to use it to help others. If you will use it to help others, God can use you in a greater way, and He will receive the glory.