Which Way?

Click here to read the Old Paths Journal.

Which Way Should I Go?

 

Genesis 24:27

"And he said, Blessed be the LORD God of my master Abraham, who hath not left destitute my master of his mercy and his truth: I being in the way, the LORD led me to the house of my master's brethren."

Have you ever been at a point in your life when you didn't know which way to go? I can testify that I have been at that place many times.  There are times when you wish that God would audibly speak to you so you could make the right choice.  If you are like me, I really want to do right, and I don't want to make a decision that would ruin what the LORD is doing through my life.  No doubt, one of the hardest things to do in life is make a decision on which way you should go.

In Genesis 24, I find that God gives a guideline to help us in choosing which way to go.  The story is about Abraham's servant looking for a bride for Isaac.  Abraham gave him some guidelines for which he expected his servant to follow in finding a bride for Isaac.  In this story, the servant made three statements that will help us in deciding which way we should go when making decisions.

First, always choose the LORD's way. Notice the Scriptures says in the verse above, "I being in the way..."  This "way" was the LORD's way.  Whenever you must make a decision, always choose the LORD's way.  You may ask, "What is the LORD's way?" The LORD's way is found in the Scriptures.  The Scriptures are very clear in many areas as to what we should and should not do.  Whenever you must make a decision, you should first look to the Scriptures to find out what they say about your decision.  Many times you don't need to pray, for the Scriptures have already made clear what you should do.  When the Scriptures have already made clear what you should do, then you don't need to pray about it because God never changes His mind.  If you will walk in the way that the Scriptures command, then you will be happy with that way.

Second, when making decisions, always choose the right way.  The Scriptures say in verse 48, "And I bowed down my head, and worshipped the LORD, and blessed the LORD God of my master Abraham, which had led me in the right way to take my master's brother's daughter unto his son." Notice the servant said, "...in the right way..." There are times in life when you must choose between two rights.  Sometimes either decision is right, and when this happens it makes it that much harder to make a decision.  When faced with a decision, always choose the way that is more conservative.  I rather error on the side of right than on the side of left.  When you must make a decision, be sure it always is more right.

Last, when making decisions, always choose the prosperous way.  It says in verse 56, "And he said unto them, Hinder me not, seeing the LORD hath prospered my way..." The word "prospered" is talking about accomplishment.  When making a decision, not only must you choose the LORD's way, and the right way, but also choose the way of accomplishment.  Whichever decision will accomplish more right without leaving the LORD's way or the right way is the way you should go.  If the decision of accomplishment means you must leave the right way or the LORD's way, then don't choose the way of accomplishment.  Accomplishment should only be done while walking in the LORD's way and the right way.

These three guidelines will help you in choosing which way you should go. The next time you are faced with a decision of which way to go, apply these three principles and you will find the decision much easier to choose.