Without Children

Click here to read the Old Paths Journal.

Without Children

 

1 Chronicles 2:30

"And the sons of Nadab; Seled, and Appaim: but Seled died without children."

 

It is interesting that two times in 1 Chronicles 2 God mentions men who "died without children." For most this would not seem to be that big of a deal, but for some who are trying to have children and can't, this is a big deal.  It is interesting to me because God took notice that they had no children.  I know several people who would love to have children, but for whatever reason God has not allowed them to have any.  To those who have no children and read this devotional, let me briefly talk to you.  

I have an uncle and aunt, L. J. and Bessie Parr, who were not able to have any children. To say the least, though they had no children, they influenced many in their lives.  Instead of complaining about not having any children, they invested themselves into the lives of many other children.  My aunt taught me to be a soul winner and helped me lead my first person to Christ when I was seven years of age. When I was at Bible college, they took care of me as if I was their own child.  These two people, though they had no children, will never be forgotten in my life for the great influence they had upon me.  

To those who have no children, let me remind you that it is not the end of the world.  Though you may want children, you must understand that it must not be God's will.  Stop fighting God, and realize that this is not the end of the world.  There is a purpose as to why God has not allowed you to have children.  If you fight the will of God, then you will never find that purpose that He has for you.  As long as God has not given you children, it is His will and you must accept it.  

Furthermore, because you have no children, what you ought to do is invest your life and efforts into others.  Just like my uncle and aunt invested their lives into me, you should take the time that you would spend rearing your children to help other children who don't have a good home.  Maybe the whole reason why God did not give you children is so that you could take your efforts and invest them into many other children.  God knew that if you had children of your own that you would not have as much time to invest in others, so maybe He didn't give you children for the purpose of you helping many children.  By investing your life in many children, you can take pride in the fact that you had a part in their life.  

Okay, so you are without children, don't let that destroy your spirit.  There are many out there whom you could influence if you do not let this destroy you.  If you will invest your life into the lives of others, then you will find that you will not be forgotten.